More Ebay Phishing Emails
There are many Ebay “Phishing” Emails circulating. Many appear quite convincing if you are a busy on Ebay. The latest pretend to be genuine buyers asking questions about Items. In this case its a TH-42PV60 Panasonic Viera HD Ready TV. Unless you are selling such an item, ignore and don’t click..If you are, handle - with extreme care!

One way to check is to bring your mouse to hover over one of the links (but don’t click). In Mozilla Mail the URL this shows in lower bar of the browser. You fill find these are not legitimate ebay domains (or will just be an IP address). A common trick is actually to include legitimate links in the email. Don’t click on any of them!
This one which came in today appeared to come from a Russian domain - smtp.ru, but often the spammers will use lengthy subdomain which contains the brand, ebay, paypal, barclays etc..
Delete any email where the link URL includes an `@.` Browsers are designed to ignore anything before the `@.` For example:
http://barclaysbanks.co.uk@scamdomain.com/login
The real location will actually be:
http://scamdomain.com/login
Most browsers will warn you now if you try and go to a domain with an `@` in the URL. For example in Firefox/Mozilla:

Obviously avoid any link which is an IP address. For example:
https://22.22.33.44/trustmebank/secure/login
You might wonder how people get away with hosting such as sites which harvest confidential information. Quite often they are hosted on hacked servers, where crackers have exploited a security issue in a php script.
Microsoft have provided the following tips on:











